General considerations

Some orders of magnitude

An economic zone like the euro one has an average life span of eighty years in 2012, we obtain:

5,48\,\%\, /\, an \; \leq \; c \; \leq \; 9,22\,\%\, /\, an

To give an idea of orders of magnitude, make a comparative on real data of 2010. Take the example of the euro zone with 10.000 billions of euros and 330 millions of citizens, optimized Universal Dividend would be included between:

DU = \frac{10 000 000 / 330 × 5,48\%}{12} = 138 € / mois / citoyen

and

DU = \frac{10 000 000 / 330 × 9,22\%}{12} = 232 € / mois / citoyen

Thus between 552€ per month and 928€ per month for a family of for persons.

Reality shows great disparities within the zone about the existence of a minimum and individual income because in France or in Germany we conditionally reach 450€ per month per individual (condition of age, of resource, etc…), compared to countries like Romania or Bulgaria, where there is a minimal salary of 130€ per month per individual, and without money allocated individually.

We are, in Europe, in a case of high spatial asymmetry which results to create high disparities and a transfer of economic activities in countries with high individual monetary allocation (discouraged to produce goods and monetized services), toward the countries with almost no individual monetary allocation. This returns by not recognizing the equality between individuals within a common economic zone.

If the ins and outs of monetary creation were presented to individuals of this community, and thus their own required approval to organize this common currency, they would realize the encountered difficulties in regards of ethic and fairness, of symmetry before the monetary creation, and they would not have accepted in such conditions.

In USA, the optimal universal dividend is calculated for about $ 15000 billion in circulation and 310 millions of residents for a 80 years life span. It would be between:

DU = \frac{15 000 000 / 310 × 5,48\%}{12} \approx 221 \$ / mois / citoyen

DU = \frac{15 000 000 / 310 × 9,22\%}{12} \approx 357 \$ / mois / citoyen

With these remarks, we will see later that the installation of an Universal Dividend can be progressive and does not have to be fixed on a given monetary state to be organized. The given numbers here aim to explain the mechanism, and to give orders of magnitude at the moment when the calculation is done. One must not forget that the monetary supply is not a fixed quantity, it evolves in space and time, and any measure must be understood as a local and instantaneous value only.

NB: In addition, Yoland Bresson points out that the GDP is between two and three times the monetary supply at various stages, and we may consider that an unconditional basic income could be based on two to three times the Universal Dividend, that is in 2010 approximately 400€ per month per citizen in Europe, or $600 per month per citizen in United States. We then make the difference between the Universal Dividend as an individual monetary creation and the Basic Income, which includes the Universal Dividend and a share of redistribution. We can also apply the temporal symmetry principle not only to the immaterial circulating currency but also to the property rights of the prime matter globally, which leads to at least double the transmitted value in the time if we consider that the money reflects the existing value. But this consideration is beyond the remit of the RTM itself.

These remarks associated to a range of possible values for “c”, leave a range of acceptable values in 2012 for a Basic Income (and not only a Universal Dividend) between 200€ and 800€ per month per Citizen for Europe and $300 * to $1200 per month per Citizen in United States. These data from 2010/2012 are obviously* to be calculated again depending on population, life expectancy and monetary mass variations.

About value

The argument that the monetary supply’s inflation would be unethical, because it would depreciate what individuals own is not consistent by the global and local analyses.

First of all, the argument that life expectancy, and the fair monetary creation towards generations shrugs off the stance from a temporal point of view, before our descendants who should not be considered as excluded of the process to our benefit.

Then, even from a local point of view the argument is flawed before a subtle analyse.

For an individual or an individual collective “X” among the N of the economic zone who owns a fraction f of the entire monetary supply. X receives therefore a fraction of the dividend c / N which means that its ratio of personal monetary “gain” is:

G = \frac{Nouvelle Monnaie - Ancienne Monnaie}{Ancienne monnaie}

So:

G = \frac{(f + \frac{c}{N}) - f}{f}

And thus:

G = \frac{1}{N}\frac{c}{f}

What will make its ratio of personal gain G more than c is that he owns less than M/N, equals to c, if he owns exactly M/N money, or less than c if he owns more than 1/N of money.

It is therefore from the quantity of money owned one can estimate be beneficiary or not.

Numeric example: A owns 50, B owns 200, there are other individuals in this monetary community and the monetary supply is 1000, for a community of ten members. Assuming a life expectancy such as the UD is 5% per year.

Annual Universal Dividend allocated to anyone will be 5% × 1000 / 10 = 5. A will have then 55, and B 205. Locally, A has benefited of 5/50 = 10% of additional money, instead of 50 / 1000 = 5% and B owns 205 / 1050 = 19.52% of the monetary supply against 200 / 1000 = 20% before distribution. B has seen his share of money reduced because he owned before the distribution more than 1000 / 10 = 100 of money, whereas for A, under the average, the opposite happens.

However, if X owns more than M/N of money, so more than the average, the monetary supply that he doesn’t own will be, on average, by individual, mechanically less than M/N, so the prices adjusted downward by local deflation.

Also, although his quantity of relative money won’t grow as fast as the global mass, he can benefit from lower prices. In addition, if he owns less than M/N of money, the prices could have a tendency to increase for the opposite reason, and what was won relatively to the money will be lost relatively to the values.

_images/considerations_generales_1.png

Graphic example with three individuals, having a monetary distribution of 300, having a Universal Dividend, then. The evolution of their relative situation is different depending on their relative share of money owned by each.

In relative theory where analysis includes relation between parts and overall they form, Local + Non-Local = Global. This means that everything chosen individually as an opposite effect on the rest of the economy. If the money is stocked, it is an effect which tends to lower prices where the money becomes scarce, and if the money flows, it is an effect which tends to raise them (at constant levels of production, excluding innovation. The innovation preventing the comparison in time, see the principle of relativity).

Finally, the value is obviously not the money. The value, for which X can pretend, includes the goods he owns, which includes admittedly the money, but also the goods he could buy with his money, as well as the money he could get by selling its goods.

Thus, the arbitration of X could depend only on his personal choices about the quantity of money he wants to include in its goods or not, its good he wants to hold, sell, or buy, and certainly not only about the quantity of money he owns. Moreover, in an innovative economy where the members are encouraged to create new goods and services, what will be value tomorrow is to a large extent totally unpredictable.

_images/considerations_generales_2.png

But furthermore, before and after the distribution of a Universal Dividend, prices of the non-monetary goods can evolve too. There is, thus, no possible, simple and generalizable conclusions about the monetary distribution, if only that it is not favorable nor unfavorable for all, all the time, but its beneficial effect or not depends on the concerned individual and how the monetary surplus will be distributed on one hand, and used by the individuals in the other hand.

Also there is no certainty possible about what should be done in the part of “protecting” one’s capital, which is here a purely relative value (the custom office Rousseau would be surprised to know the estimation of his capital done in 2010, and Maxwell even more if he still owned “intellectual property rights” on his fabulous theory about electromagnetism).

Moreover the Universal Dividend is without absolutely no prejudice, in terms of personal gains or loss, with “value”. It is the individual choices which determinate the impact that could have the increasing of the monetary supply on the individual basket of values.

About the symmetry of the value created by individuals

One should really understand symmetry argument in its entirety. Members of a set-up monetary system were beneficial of the early monetary creation, but or not necessarily “rich” of this particular money. They are mostly rich of the goods, the skills, the fundamental nature of human being able to trade with his siblings and to have a unique opinion about what is value or not. Yet the value which exists inside this community of individuals has no reason to prime on the value estimated by the future entrants.

This is spatially and temporally true. That is when two communities decide to integrate with one and the other, and so to merge their money, one should not to prime on the other before the individual monetary creation, and when a generation replace another, one should not suppose that values realized by next generation would be less legit than the previous.

That is why it is a relative theory of money. There is no individual referential privileged about the measure of the value, each individual constitute an acceptable reference to get a measure, and only the money, contractually admitted by the members of the economic zone is a common measure of value.

It is the same as in relativistic physics, we have between two relative references only one common measurement standard which is the speed of light, from which observers agree, and transform their view of the phenomenon (time, space, etc…) in relation to the chosen reference. Yet this measure, although common, is not “absolute” as a result of the expansion of the Universe. The speed of light in relation to the volume of the Universe decreases over time.

It is the same for the money coming with a growing economy in the space-time. Succeeding human generation are building on each other to create higher or different values in a process of quantitative and/or qualitative progress (which can also be translated to a reduction of some flux by optimization of their usage).

Even if case of stagnation or regression (we can think of the case of North American Amish who refused to integrate technical “progress” in their community), the community enriches itself in terms of knowledge, lived experience, which in the long term will constitute without any doubt a value related to the experimental knowledge so acquired whatever the interpretation. It makes no doubt that the economic value for the Amish differs significantly from one of another community.

_images/considerations_generales_3.png

Amish farmer fertilizing his field (Wikimedia)

Considérations générales

Quelques ordres de grandeur

Une zone économique comme la zone € a une espérance de vie moyenne de 80 ans en 2012, on obtient :

5,48\,\%\, /\, an \; \leq \; c \; \leq \; 9,22\,\%\, /\, an

On peut dès lors pour donner une idée des ordres de grandeur, faire un comparatif sur des données réelles en 2010. Prenons l’exemple de la zone euro avec 10 000 milliards d’euros et 330 millions de citoyens le Dividende Universel optimisé serait alors compris entre :

DU = \frac{10 000 000 / 330 × 5,48\%}{12} = 138 € / mois / citoyen

et

DU = \frac{10 000 000 / 330 × 9,22\%}{12} = 232 € / mois / citoyen

Donc entre 552 € / mois et 928 € / mois pour une famille de 4 personnes.

La réalité montre des disparités colossales au sein de la zone quant à l’existence d’un revenu minimum individuel puisqu’en France ou en Allemagne on atteint 450 € / mois / personne de façon conditionnelle (condition d’âge, de ressource etc...) quand dans des pays comme la Roumanie ou la Bulgarie c’est le salaire minimum qui est de 130 € / mois sans qu’il y ait de monnaie individuellement allouée.

Nous sommes en Europe dans un cas d’asymétrie spatiale forte qui a pour effet de créer de grandes disparités et un transfert d’activités économiques des pays à forte allocation monétaire individuelle (découragés à produire biens et services monétisés), vers les pays à quasi zéro allocation monétaire individuelle. Cela revient à ne pas reconnaître l’égalité entre individus au sein d’une zone économique commune.

Si les tenants et les aboutissants de la création monétaire avaient été présentés aux individus de cette communauté, et leur assentiment personnel exigé pour mettre en place cette monnaie commune, ils auraient réalisé les difficultés posées en matière d’éthique et d’équité, de symétrie devant la création monétaire, et ils ne l’auraient sûrement pas acceptée dans de telles conditions.

Aux États-Unis, le Dividende Universel optimal se calcule pour environ 15 000 milliards de $ en circulation et 310 millions d’habitants pour 80 ans d’espérance de vie. Il serait compris entre :

DU = \frac{15 000 000 / 310 × 5,48\%}{12} \approx 221 \$ / mois / citoyen

DU = \frac{15 000 000 / 310 × 9,22\%}{12} \approx 357 \$ / mois / citoyen

Ceci étant noté, nous verrons plus tard que l’installation d’un Dividende Universel peut être progressive et n’a pas à se fixer sur un état monétaire donné pour se mettre en place. Les chiffres donnés ici on pour but d’expliquer le mécanisme, et donner des ordres de grandeur à l’instant où le calcul est effectué. Il ne faut pas oublier que la masse monétaire n’est pas une quantité fixe, elle évolue dans le temps et dans l’espace, et toute mesure doit être comprise comme n’ayant de valeur que locale et instantanée.

NB : Yoland Bresson remarque par ailleurs que le PIB vaut entre 2 et 3 fois la masse monétaire selon les phases, et qu’on peut envisager qu’un revenu individuel inconditionnel (Revenu d’Existence ou Revenu de Base ou Allocation Universelle) soit basé sur 2 à 3 fois le Dividende Universel, soit en 2010 environ 400 € / mois / Citoyen pour l’Europe ou 600 $ / mois / Citoyen aux États-Unis. On fait alors une différence entre le Dividende Universel en tant que création monétaire individuelle et le Revenu de Base, qui comprend le Dividende Universel et une part de redistribution. On peut aussi appliquer le principe de symétrie temporelle non pas à la seule monnaie immatérielle circulante mais aussi aux droits de propriétés de la matière originelle dans son ensemble, ce qui conduit à au moins douber la valeur transmise dans le temps si l’on considère que la monnaie reflète la valeur existante. Mais cette considération sort du strict cadre de la TRM proprement dite.

Ces remarques associées à la plage de valeurs possibles pour « c », donnent une plage de valeurs acceptables en 2012 pour un Revenu de Base (et pas un seul Dividende Universel) entre 200 € et 800 € / mois / Citoyen pour l’Europe et 300 $ à 1200 $ / mois / Citoyen aux États-Unis. Ces données de 2010/2012 seront évidemment à recalculer selon les variations de la population, de l’espérance de vie et de la masse monétaire.

À propos de la valeur

L’argument selon lequel l’inflation de la masse monétaire serait contraire à l’éthique, parce qu’elle dévaloriserait ce que possèdent les individus ne tient pas devant l’analyse tant globale que locale.

Tout d’abord l’argument de l’espérance de vie, et de la création monétaire équitable envers toutes les générations balaye l’argument d’un point de vue temporel devant nos descendants qui n’ont pas à être considérés comme exclus du processus à notre bénéfice.

Ensuite même d’un point de vue local l’argument ne tient pas devant une analyse fine.

Soit un individu ou un collectif d’individus « X » parmi les N de la zone économique qui possède une fraction f de la masse monétaire totale. X reçoit donc une fraction du dividende c / N ce qui fait que son ratio de « gain » monétaire personnel est de :

G = \frac{Nouvelle Monnaie - Ancienne Monnaie}{Ancienne monnaie}

Soit :

G = \frac{(f + \frac{c}{N}) - f}{f}

Et donc :

G = \frac{1}{N}\frac{c}{f}

Ce qui fait que son ratio de gain personnel G sera supérieur à c s’il possède moins de M/N de monnaie, égal à c, s’il possède exactement M/N de monnaie, et inférieur à c s’il possède plus de 1/N de monnaie.

C’est donc selon la quantité de monnaie possédée qu’on peut estimer être gagnant monétairement ou pas.

Exemple numérique : A possède 50, B possède 200 il y a d’autres individus dans cette communauté monétaire et la masse monétaire est de 1 000, pour une communauté de 10 membres. Admettons une espérance de vie telle que le DU soit de 5 % / an.

Le Dividende Universel annuel alloué à chacun sera de 5 % x 1000 / 10 = 5. A aura alors 55, et B 205. Localement A a bénéficié de 5/50 = 10 % de monnaie supplémentaire, et B de seulement 5/200 = 2,5 %. Globalement A possède désormais par ailleurs 55 / 1050 = 5,24 % de la masse monétaire, au lieu de 50 / 1000 = 5 % et B possède 205 / 1050 = 19,52 % de la masse monétaire contre 200 / 1000 = 20 % avant la distribution. B a vu sa part monétaire diminuer car il possédait avant la distribution plus de 1000 / 10 = 100 de monnaie, tandis que pour A, en dessous de cette moyenne, c’est l’inverse qui se produit.

Mais par ailleurs si X possède plus de M/N de monnaie, donc plus de monnaie que la moyenne, la masse monétaire qu’il ne possède pas sera en moyenne, par individu, mécaniquement inférieure à M/N, donc les prix ajustés à la baisse par déflation locale.

Aussi, bien que sa quantité de monnaie relative n’augmente pas aussi vite que la masse globale, il peut bénéficier d’une baisse des prix. Par ailleurs s’il possède moins de M/N de monnaie, les prix pourront avoir tendance à monter pour la raison inverse, et ce qui est gagné relativement à la monnaie sera perdu relativement aux valeurs.

_images/considerations_generales_1.png

Exemple graphique avec trois individus, ayant une répartition monétaire de 300, avant Dividende Universel, puis après. L’évolution de leur situation relative est différente selon la part relative de monnaie possédée par chacun.

En théorie relative où l’analyse comprend la relation entre les parties et le tout, Local + Non Local = Global. Cela signifie que tout ce qui est choisi individuellement a un effet inverse sur le reste de l’économie. Si la monnaie se stocke c’est une force qui a tendance à faire baisser les prix là où elle se raréfie et si la monnaie circule, c’est une force qui a tendance à les faire monter (à production constante, hors innovation. L’innovation empêchant la comparaison dans le temps, cf principe de relativité).

Enfin la valeur n’est évidemment pas la monnaie. La valeur à laquelle X peut prétendre, comprend les biens qu’il possède, ce qui inclut certes la monnaie, mais aussi les biens qu’il pourra acheter avec sa monnaie, ainsi que la monnaie qu’il pourra récupérer en vendant ses biens.

L’arbitrage que pourrait donc faire X dépend donc entièrement de ses choix personnels quant à la quantité de monnaie qu’il compte inclure dans ses biens ou pas, les biens qu’il compte garder, vendre, ou acheter, et certainement pas uniquement de la quantité de monnaie qu’il possède. D’autant que dans une économie innovante où les membres sont incités à créer de nouveaux biens et services, ce qui sera la valeur de demain est dans une grande partie totalement imprévisible.

_images/considerations_generales_2.png

Mais par ailleurs, avant et après la distribution d’un dividende universel, les prix des biens non-monétaires pourront eux-aussi évoluer. Il n’est donc pas de conclusion possible simple et généralisable quant à la distribution monétaire, si ce n’est qu’elle n’est ni favorable ni défavorable pour tous, tout le temps, mais que son effet bénéfique ou non dépend de l’individu concerné et de comment le surplus monétaire sera distribué d’une part, et utilisé par les individus d’autre part.

Aussi il n’existe aucune certitude possible quant à ce qu’il conviendrait de faire dans le cadre de la « protection » de son capital, qui est donc ici aussi une valeur purement relative (le douanier Rousseau aurait été étonné de connaître l’estimation de son capital faite en 2010, et Maxwel encore plus s’il avait gardé des « droits de propriété intellectuelle » sur sa fabuleuse théorie de l’électromagnétisme).

Aussi le Dividende Universel ne préjuge absolument pas, en terme de gain ou de perte personnels, de la « valeur ». Ce sont les choix individuels qui déterminent l’impact que pourra avoir l’augmentation de la masse monétaire sur le panier individuel de valeurs.

À propos de la symétrie de la valeur apportée par les individus

Il convient de bien comprendre l’argument de la symétrie dans toutes ses composantes. Les membres d’un système monétaire en place ont bénéficié d’une création monétaire initiale, mais n’en sont pas pour autant « riches » de cette monnaie particulière. Ils sont surtout riches de leurs biens, de leurs compétences, de leur nature fondamentale d’être humain capable d’échanger avec ses semblables et d’avoir un avis unique sur ce qui est valeur ou pas. Or la valeur qui existe au sein de cette communauté d’individus n’a aucune raison de primer sur la valeur estimée par les futurs entrants.

Ceci est vrai tant spatialement que temporellement. C’est-à-dire que quand deux communautés décident de s’intégrer l’une l’autre, et donc de fusionner leur monnaie, l’une n’a pas à primer sur l’autre quant à la création monétaire par individu, et quand une génération en remplace une autre, il n’y a pas non plus à supposer que l’estimation des valeurs réalisée par la génération suivante serait moins légitime que celle de la précédente.

C’est en cela qu’il s’agit d’une théorie relative de la monnaie. Il n’y aucun référentiel individuel privilégié quant à la mesure de la valeur, chaque individu constituant un repère acceptable pour en avoir une mesure, et donc seule la monnaie, contractuellement admise par les membres de la zone économique constitue une mesure commune de valeur.

De la même façon en physique relativiste, on a entre deux repères relatifs un seul étalon de mesure commun qui est la vitesse de la lumière, à partir duquel les observateurs s’accordent, et transforment leur vision des phénomènes (temps, espace, etc...) selon le repère choisi. Or cette mesure bien que commune n’est en rien « absolue » du fait de l’expansion de l’Univers. La vitesse de la lumière rapportée au volume de l’Univers diminue dans le temps.

Il en est de même pour la monnaie qui accompagne une économie en croissance dans l’espace-temps. Les générations humaines qui se succèdent prennent appui l’une sur l’autre pour créer des valeurs supérieures ou différentes dans un processus d’amélioration quantitatif et/ou qualitatif (ce qui peut aussi se traduire aussi par une réduction de certains flux par optimisation de leur usage).

Même dans un cas de stagnation voire de régression (on peut penser au cas des Amishs d’Amérique du Nord qui ont refusé d’intégrer le « progrès » technique dans leur communauté), la communauté s’enrichit en terme de connaissance de l’expérience vécue, ce qui sur le long terme constituera sans aucun doute une valeur liée au savoir expérimental ainsi acquis quel qu’en soit l’interprétation. Il ne doit faire aucun doute que la valeur économique pour les Amish est très sensiblement différente de celle d’une autre communauté.

_images/considerations_generales_3.png

Fermier Amish fertilisant son champ (wikimedia)