Preface by Yoland Bresson

The Relative Theory of the Money written by Stéphane Laborde is part of the great french tradition of economic science works produced by engineers like Dupuit, Cournot... up to our only Nobel price winner of the discipline : Maurice Allais.

But all sciences build a specific language and I fear that economists, as the honest citizen of the century, don’t grasp all the interest of this theoretical input without a « translation ».

The « Universal Dividend system », which the author proposes, is a monetary system in which the money is uniformly distributed between all the actors, individuals of all age or sex, any one of them receiving an equal part.

Nearly all of us already practiced such a system ... by playing Monopoly™. Indeed, each player receives at the beginning the same amount of money, and at each turn by passing through the start, they gain some money, each one receiving the same amount. One turn is the base period, theoretically identical for all, except for the hazard of the game, the dice throws ... the turn passes more or less fast and the money gains then differentiate between players. Note that the equality of the monetary donations does not prevent the appearance of winners and losers according to their individual choices and the opportunities of randomness.

Nowadays, in our reality, the repartition of the monetary supply does not correspond to such a system. It is created and distributed under the form of debt through the banking system, which answers the demand of money from the citizens by lending them far more money than they detain themselves, in return of an interest rate higher than the one they have to support themselves by supplying from the Central Bank, as first and last emitter. The country has at disposal this monetary supply called M3.

One should well distinguish between the monetary supply - which is an available stock of money, all the time present, fixed except additional monetary creation - from the income flows in money that individuals capture through economic activities and exchange: the monetary supply generates the flow of the revenue, which is the sum of the year, traditionally evaluated as GDP. This link which appears trivial is in reality very subtle, as we shall see it later.

So the author seeks to answer to the following question : which rule of monetary creation should we adopt, and at which rhythm must monetary supply grow, in order to institute a system with Universal Dividend, where the monetary supply’ density – meaning its distribution among individuals – would be uniform in space and time ?

It supposes a stable population in number with a given life span. That is, it admits a zero demographic growth : there are as many births as deaths and no migrations. In this case, the life span corresponds to the duration at the end of which there is no one from the old generation left. The population is totally renewed since the setup of the new rule ; the density is now uniform for everyone, whatever the density prevailed at the origin. The Universal Dividend system, the one we have to remember, where each receives an equal part of the monetary supply, is completely realized.

The answer is what the author calls « the Optimal Universal Dividend » : the monetary supply must grow annually with a « c » factor, of course inversely proportional to the life span – meaning the duration of the renewing of the population or the time to set the system in place completely – and that money surplus must be equally and unconditionally distributed between all population members. This « c » factor is equal to more or less 5% for a life span of 80 years.

How to deduce the unconditional amount to attribute not in monetary supply, but in monthly income flows, an « existence income », here totally conform to its definition : income attributed because one exists, as member of the community, and not to exist ?

If we calculate, as the author does, for Europe, 5% of the M3 euro mass divided by 330 millions of Europeans citizen, we obtain 1515€ per person. What does that mean ? We must create 5% of additional money this year and distribute it next 1st of January by giving 1515€ to each European citizen and not create any more money during the whole year 2011.

Doing it again on the 1st of January 2012, 5% more ... and so on each year so that in 80 years everyone would detain an equal part of the M3 of the time. This method would only be applicable : if it exists only one money emitter, the ECB for example, creating the additional euros whether in notes, whether by crediting account of the all individuals and by imposing the “100% money”, as Maurice Allais wanted, so the banks could not lend more than what they have in deposits.

Such a setting would correspond to an institutional bigbang. A monthly attribution of income, an existence income, seems to be a less traumatising instauration for our institutions.

How to go from monetary supply to income?

If we simply divide the 1515€ in 12 months, we implicitly suppose that monetary supply takes exactly one year to generate a total flow of revenue equal to itself. It’s by the way how I defined the « economical Unit of Time », a single norm in which the pass from the mass to flows can be expressed everywhere without distortion. Indeed, depending on the country or the times or circumstances, expansion, recession, a particular monetary supply circulates faster or slower, supporting more or less frequent exchanges, assorted with monetary values more or less high. In one civil year the sum of the flows can then value three time the monetary supply. The economic unit of time does not correspond to the real time unit. With a GDP that would be equal to 3 × M3, the economic unit of time would equal to one quarter and one semester if the GDP equals 2 × M3.

In reality, GDP is included between two and three times M3. So the 1515€ should be divided by 4 and 6 months to give the monthly income. We obtain for Europe approximatively 300€ per month and per person of Universal Dividend or rather existence income to stay in conformity with the economic language : a dividend is given one time, in principle, extracted from a stock, the monetary supply in this case, an income is a regular flow issued by monetary exchanges.

It is remarkable that Stéphane Laborde theory joins the one of the value-time until measure, since its universal dividend for Europe reaches from the bottom existence income issued from time-value which gives today around 350€ for France.

These two theories, “Relative Theory of Money” and “time-value” converge to build the foundation of a new paradigm, a new vision of economy. Based on them, the architecture of a new social organization – more respectful of the equality which we should imagine – could be elevated. I have personally been tempted to propose one, taking establishing consequences of an existence income or a system with universal dividend, to follow the author, by publishing « Une Clémente Économie » (in french). But this essay is nor exclusive nor definitive. The « Relative Theory of Money » offered to the Libre Community of cybernauts is an invitation which is addressed to it, in a total sharing of creative ideas, to imagine, then to concretize another world.

-- Yoland Bresson

Préface de la version 1.0 par Yoland Bresson

La théorie relative de la monnaie de Stéphane Laborde s’inscrit dans la grande tradition française de travaux de sciences économiques produit par des ingénieurs tels ceux de Dupuit, Cournot... jusqu’à notre seul prix Nobel de la discipline : Maurice Allais.

Mais, toute science se construit un langage particulier et je crains que les économistes, comme l’honnête Homme du siècle, ne saisissent pas vraiment tout l’intérêt de cet apport théorique sans une « traduction ».

Le « Système à Dividende Universel » que propose l’auteur est un système monétaire dans lequel la monnaie est uniformément distribuée entre tous les acteurs, individus de tout âge et de tout sexe, chacun d’eux en en recevant une part égale.

Nous avons presque tous déjà pratiqué un tel système… en jouant au Monopoly. En effet chaque joueur reçoit au départ la même quantité de monnaie, et à chaque tour par passage à la case départ de la monnaie supplémentaire est ajoutée, chacun percevant une même somme. Un tour est la période de base théoriquement identique pour tous, sauf que selon les aléas du jeu, les jets de dés... le tour est fait plus ou moins vite et que les ajouts de monnaie s’en différencient selon les joueurs. Notez que l’égalité des dotations monétaires n’empêche pas l’apparition de gagnants et de perdants selon les choix individuels et les opportunités du hasard.

Actuellement, dans notre réalité, la répartition de la masse monétaire ne correspond pas à un tel système. Elle est créée et distribuée sous forme de dette par l’intermédiaire du système bancaire qui répond à la demande de monnaie des particuliers en leur prêtant bien plus de monnaie qu’elles ne détiennent elles-mêmes contre un intérêt supérieur à celui qu’elles-mêmes doivent supporter en s’approvisionnant auprès de la Banque Centrale, émettrice en premier et dernier ressort. Le pays dispose ainsi d’une masse monétaire dite M3.

Il faut bien distinguer la masse monétaire, stock de monnaie disponible, comme éternellement présent, fixe sauf création monétaire supplémentaire, des flux de revenus en monnaie que captent les individus dans l’activité économiques et les échanges : la masse monétaire engendre des flux de revenus dont la somme sur l’année est traditionnellement évaluée comme le PIB. Ce lien qui paraît trivial est en vérité très subtil comme nous le verrons plus loin.

Dès lors l’auteur cherche à répondre à la question suivante : quelle règle de création monétaire doit-on adopter, et à quelle rythme faut-il accroître la masse monétaire, de façon à instituer un système à Dividende Universel, tel que sa densité, c’est-à-dire sa répartition selon les individus, soit uniforme dans l’espace et dans le temps ?

Il suppose une population stable en nombre avec une espérance de vie donnée. C’est-à-dire qu’il admet un solde démographique naturel nul : il y a autant de naissances que de décès et pas de migrations. L’espérance de vie correspond alors à la durée au bout de laquelle il n’y a plus aucun ancien vivant. La population est totalement renouvelée depuis la mise en place de la nouvelle règle ; la densité est maintenant pour tous uniforme qu’elle que soit celle qui prévalait à l’origine. Le Système à Dividende Universel, celui rappelons-le où chacun reçoit une part égale de la masse monétaire est complètement réalisé.

La réponse est ce que l’auteur appelle le « Dividende Universel Optimal » : la masse monétaire doit annuellement croître d’un facteur « c », évidemment inversement proportionnel à l’espérance de vie- c’est-à-dire à la durée de renouvellement de la population ou à celle de la mise en place complète du système - et ce surplus de monnaie doit être également et inconditionnellement distribué entre tous les membres de la population. Ce facteur c est égal à 5 % environ pour une espérance de vie de 80 ans.

Comment en déduire la somme inconditionnelle à attribuer non pas en masse monétaire mais en flux de revenu mensuel, un « revenu d’existence », ici tout à fait conforme à sa définition : revenu attribué parce qu’on existe, membre de la communauté et non pour exister ?

Si on calcule, comme le fait l’auteur, pour l’Europe, 5 % de la masse M3 d’euros divisé par les 330 millions d’européens on obtient 1 515 euros par personne. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie ? Il faut créer 5 % de monnaie supplémentaire cette année et la distribuer au 1er janvier prochain en donnant 1 515 € à chaque européen et ne plus créer de monnaie pendant toute l’année 2011.

Recommencer au 1er janvier 2012, 5 % en plus... et ainsi de suite de telle sorte que dans 80 ans chacun détiendra une part égale de M3 de l’époque. Cette méthode ne sera applicable que : s’il existe un seul émetteur de monnaie, la BCE par exemple, créant les euros supplémentaires soit en billets, soit en créditant tous les comptes des particuliers et qu’elle impose le 100 % monnaie, comme le souhaitait Maurice Allais, les banques ne pouvant prêter plus qu’elles n’ont en dépôts.

Une telle mise en place correspondrait à un bigbang institutionnel. Une attribution mensuelle de revenu, un revenu d’existence, semble une instauration moins traumatisante pour nos institutions.

Comment passer de la masse monétaire au revenu ?

Si on divise simplement les 1 515 € par 12 mois, c’est qu’on suppose implicitement que la masse monétaire met exactement une année pour engendrer un flux total de revenus égal à elle-même. C’est d’ailleurs ainsi que j’ai défini « l’Unité de Temps Economique » seule norme sur laquelle le passage de la masse aux flux peut partout s’exprimer sans distorsion. En effet selon les pays ou les époques et les circonstances, expansion, récession, une même masse de monnaie circule plus ou moins vite, portant des échanges plus ou moins fréquents, assortis de valeurs en monnaie plus ou moins élevés. En une année civile la somme des flux peut alors valoir trois fois la masse. L’unité de temps économique ne correspond pas à l’unité de temps réel. Avec un PIB qui serait égal à 3M3, l’unité de temps économique équivaut à un trimestre et à un semestre si le PIB égal 2M3.

En réalité le PIB est compris entre 2 et 3 M3. Donc les 1 515 € devraient être divisés entre 4 et 6 mois pour nous donner le revenu mensuel. On obtiendrait pour l’Europe approximativement 300 € par mois et par personne de dividende universel ou plutôt de revenu d’existence pour rester en conformité avec le langage économique : un dividende est donné en une fois, en principe, tiré d’un stock, ici la masse monétaire, un revenu est un flux régulier issu des échanges en monnaie.

Il est remarquable que la théorie de Stéphane Laborde rejoigne celle de la valeur-temps jusque dans la mesure puisque son dividende universel pour l’Europe se rapproche par le bas du revenu d’existence issu de la valeur-temps qui donne aujourd’hui 350€ environs pour la France.

Ces deux théories, théorie relative de la monnaie et valeur-temps convergent pour bâtir les fondations d’un nouveau paradigme, d’une nouvelle vision de l’économie. Sur elles pourrait s’élever l’architecture d’une nouvelle organisation sociale plus respectueuse de l’égalité qu’il nous faut imaginer. J’ai personnellement tenté d’en proposer une, tirant les conséquences envisageables de l’instauration du revenu d’existence ou du système à dividende universel, pour suivre l’auteur, en publiant « Une Clémente Economie ». Mais cet essai n’est ni exclusif, ni définitif. La « Théorie Relative de la Monnaie » offerte à la libre communauté des internautes est une invitation qui lui est adressée, dans un partage total d’idées créatives, pour imaginer, puis concrétiser un autre monde.

-- Yoland Bresson